COUNSELING TRANSGENDER AND NON-BINARY YOUTH:
The Essential Guide
by Irwin Krieger

There are growing numbers of youth who identify as transgender, and as a result, clinicians and counselors are in need of an informed resource that covers the basics of gender identity and expression. Counseling Transgender and Non-Binary Youth: The Essential Guide responds to that need by setting out clear advice and support on working with transgender and non-binary youth with regard to their identity, mental health, personal and family life and their medical and social transition as well as offering additional resources and reading lists.


Along with the basic information needed to understand transgender clients, Irwin Krieger applies this general knowledge to work with transgender teens at what can be the most critical and problematic stage in a trans person's life. Specifically, issues of gender identity awareness and expression for youth along with the mental and physical challenges that puberty presents are discussed. This guide will inform counselors and therapists to support transgender teens in their practice, while providing the necessary tools for opening up the conversation on transgender issues in families and schools.

TRAINING

I am available for presentations on topics related to:

Understanding transgender identities
Clinical services for LGBT teens and adults and their families
Helping parents understand and support transgender teens
Seminars for mental health professionals, educators, attorneys, health care professionals and social service providers.

For information about presentations to schools click on
this link for presentations regarding Transgender Students,or
this link for presentations addressing LGBT Students.

For information about mental health presentations click on
this link for presentations regarding Transgender Clients,or
this link for presentations addressing LGBT Clients.

To discuss presentations, contact me

RESOURCES FOR CLINICIANS

For recommended readings, click here.


SUPPORT GROUPS FOR YOUTH AND PARENTS

Gendered Intelligence has support groups for youth in the U.K.: genderedintelligence.co.uk

Mermaids has support groups for parents in the U.K.: mermaidsuk.org.uk

PFLAG has meetings across the U.S.  To find a chapter near you: pflag.org/find-a-chapter

PFLAG Canada has chapters throughout Canada: pflagcanada.ca/pflag-chapters

Transcend Support lists support groups throughout Australia: transcendsupport.com.au

TransFamily (U.S.) hosts an email group for parents: transfamily.org/discussion.html

TransParent USA has chapters in a number of U.S. locations: transparentusa.org

Trevor Space is a monitored peer networking site for LGBT youth ages 13-24: trevorspace.org  


TRANSGENDER ADVOCACY

Asia-Pacific Transgender Network: http: weareaptn.org

Black Trans Advocacy (U.S.): blacktrans.org

CENESEX (Cuba): cenesex.org

FTM International: ftmi.org

Gender Centre, Inc. has a directory of resources in Australia: gendercentre.org.au

Gender Dynamix (South Africa): genderdynamix.org.za

Global Action for Trans* Equality: transactivists.org

Iranti-org (Africa): www.iranti-org.co.za

National Center for Transgender Equality (U.S.): transequality.org

OutRight Action International: outrightinternational.org

REDLACTRANS (Carribbean and Latin America): redlactrans.org.ar/site

Sahodari Foundation (India): sahodari.org

trans*formation (U.K): transformationuk.com

Transgender Equality Network Ireland: teni.ie

Transgender Europe: tgeu.org


INTERSEX ADVOCACY

InterACT: interactadvocates.org

Organization Intersex International: oiiinternational.com


TRANSGENDER RESOURCES

FTM Information Resources: jotto.info/FTM/index.html

Hudson’s FTM Resource Guide: ftmguide.org

Laura’s Playground, with translation into many languages: lauras-playground.com

Transsexual & Transgender Road Map: tsroadmap.com


FAMILY AND SCHOOL ADVOCACY IN THE U.S.

Campus Pride: campuspride.org

Gender Spectrum: genderspectrum.org

GLSEN: glsen.org.

GSA Network: gsanetwork.org

transACTION - A Transgender Curriculum For Churches and Religious Institutions:             welcomingresources.org/transgender.xml

TransKids Purple Rainbow Foundation: transkidspurplerainbow.org

Trans Youth Equality Foundation: transyouthequality.org

Trans Youth Family Allies: imatyfa.org

TransActive: transactiveonline.org


LEGAL ADVOCACY IN THE U.S.

GLAD: glad.org

LLDEF: lambdalegal.org

National Center for Lesbian Rights: nclrights.org/our-work/transgender-law

Sylvia Rivera Law Project: srlp.org

Transgender Law and Policy Institute: transgenderlaw.org

Transgender Law Center: transgenderlawcenter.org

Transgender Legal Defense and Education Fund: transgenderlegal.org


SUMMER CAMPS FOR TRANS YOUTH IN THE U.S.

Camp Aranu’tiq:  Summer camp in New Hampshire and California: camparanutiq.org

Get Free: A Summer Program For Queer and Trans Youth of Color in Oakland: bgdblog.org

Trans Youth Equality Foundation: summer and fall retreats in Maine: transyouthequality.org


ORGANIZATIONS COMBATING BULLYING AND STIGMA IN THE U.S.

B Stigma Free: bstigmafree.org

Stop Bullying: https://www.stopbullying.gov

Tyler Clementi Foundation: tylerclementi.org


HEALTH INFORMATION:

click here


PHONE AND ONLINE CRISIS SUPPORT, LGBT YOUTH

GLBT National Help Center (U.S.) at glnh.org or 888-843-4564

Trans Lifeline. US: (877-565-8860) and Canada: (877-330-6366) and online: translifeline.org

Trevor Project (U.S.): thetrevorproject.org (888-4-U-TREVOR) is a confidential 24/7 crisis and suicide prevention helpline for LGBT youth.

Youthline (Canada): Open from 4:00-9:30 PM Sunday-Friday. (Toronto time zone) Call: 800-268-9688. Text: 647-694-4275. TTY: 416-962-0777. Email: askus@youthline.ca. To chat, click the Chat button at the top of this page: youthline.ca/



LOCATING EXPERIENCED THERAPISTS

Four useful resources for finding a therapist experienced in the treatment of transgender persons in your area:

1. The website of Dr. Becky Allison: www.drbecky.com/therapists.html.

2. Laura's Playground www.lauras-playground.com

3. The World Professional Association for Transgender Health www.wpath.org
From the home page click on "find a provider", then enter your State (if you are in the U.S.)and click on "submit".

4. The Fenway Center provider list includes mental health and medical providers nationwide, but especially in the Northeast.

If possible, it is best to verify independently that the therapist you find is fully credentialed and licensed.


CONFERENCES, U.S. and INTERNATIONAL:

click here


Publication date: 21 July 2017

Jessica Kingsley Publishers.

To order a copy, click here